Monday, January 31, 2011

Wilmington Regional Success

This month has easily been my most successful bridge month, winning 8 free plays in 16 tournament sessions. This whole dressing up thing is really worth it. People are nicer to me (well, 98% of the peole are nice to me anyway but now it's like 100%) and it's somehow easier to ignore the little annoying things many people do. Maybe it's the outfits. Maybe it's the winning. I don't know.

In Wilmington, NC for the last 3 days of the regional, Sean and I had 4 sessions in the A/X pairs, each between 57.34% and 62.50%. That was good for a first and third and we were quite pleased. Sunday, we managed 2nd in X in the Swiss. Sean may have found some success away from the bridge table, too. ;)

Anyway, I'm sure I did lots of good things (although winning pair games isn't so much about doing brilliant things as it is about giving the opponents a chance to make a mistake and not screwing up the easy hands), but today I am writing about my one and only possible declarer play mistake this week. It was round 9 Saturday night and I knew we were still well in the hunt to be first overall for a second straight day, but I was a lazy declarer here.

Dealer: N
Vul: Both

♣ J93
♣ Q7642


Pass2Pass 3 
Pass 3Pass3
Pass 3NTAllPass

We had a canapé auction but the same concepts should apply here as in a 2/1 auction. I generally think 3is asking for a heart stopper and then 3NT over the 3♠ as showing a tentative heart stopper. I thought one of us should have bid 4♠ instead of 3NT but I'm not sure who. Anyway, In 3NT I got the 2 lead. I ducked twice and then quickly played AK, kind of figuring that even if I have to lose a diamond, they can only take 1 more heart and I'd still make the contract. I didn't bother checking to see about their leads until after the hand was over when I found out they play 3rd/5th leads against NT. Even knowing that, it's not entirely clear whether west led a 3 or 5 card suit since the auction kind of screamed for a heart lead. 4♠ is almost sure to make 4, even with a diamond loser and 5 or 6 if you pick up diamonds for no losers (depending on whether you pick up the Q). But will the field be in 4♠? Doubtful. It's probably going to be a 1-2-2♠-3♣-3NT auction at most tables. That puts the other hand on lead but that auction strongly suggests a heart lead as well. So the number of spades you could make is not too important in determining how to play the hand.

Had I "known" that hearts were splitting 5-3 from checking their CC, does that make the double finesse in diamonds the percentage play? At matchpoints? I'm not so sure but it's definitely something I should have thought about. It loses an overtrick when east has singleton or doubleton honor (but not QJ tight, assuming you follow the rule of restricted choice), but gains when west has QJx(x). Additionally, it gives up the option to finesse spades later and get more overtricks as the spade entry to hand would be needed to lead diamonds thereby limiting you to 10 tricks when diamonds are right unless there's ♠Qx. Interesting hand.
The results: 690, 3x660, 650, 600, 2x150, 5x-100, so 1 pair found the safer 4♠, 2 played presumably a diamond partscore, and those that made 3NT mostly made overtricks.


  1. Andre,
    For us the auction would go 1D-2D-3N (extras, both majors stopped), which would probably fetch a spade or club lead.
    My preference would be that 3H shows a stopper and worried about clubs and you would bid 3N if you have a heart stopper. What about bidding 3S with your hand to show 3 card support?
    If you had known their leads, I think taking the finesse in diamonds makes sense, as you are finessing into the safe hand, so it also serves as a safety play.

  2. Yes, that is certainly a reasonable auction as well, but my preference is to bid 2S over inverted 2D. And a spade lead from east is probably how people were making 5 or 6.
    At imps the safety play in diamonds is definitely right but at matchpoints I am still not convinced.

  3. yeah, I guess you have to consider if the field is in 3N and getting a more favorable lead because it's being played by N then you might have to risk going down to catch up to the field.

    We play that the inverted minor 100% denies a 4 card major, so bidding 2S or 2H shows a stopper in the suit bid and denies a stopper in the other major.

  4. Just me and my regular partner - sorry if I sounded like I was part of some sort of inverted minor syndicate.